top of page

2017 Finals Day Report, Results and Photos

The Finals Day Report

Whilst the finals day was marred by the heavy rain which forced us to move the matches into the Dome from the beginning of the day – it did not dampen spirits or the quality of matches played.

Starting off with the finals of the Open Event, Alex Brown won his maiden Men’s Open Singles Title with a 7-6 6-2 win over 2016 finalist Vincent Gaugry. Vincent made up for his loss in the singles by teaming up with Jack Slaughter to defeat Jack Brooker and Gakuto Fuse 6-1 6-2 in an exciting match.

An enthralling Ladies Final saw Mili Shah retain her title for another year in a hard-fought and tight match versus New Team Player Sophie Nelson. 7-5 5-7 6-2 in a 3-hour match. Mili and Sophie then teamed up to take the ladies doubles 7-5 6-2 versus Anneka Els (Ladies 1st team captain) and Lindsay Forbes.

Sophie (this year’s busiest player, making it to 3 finals) teamed up with David Charlton in the Open Mixed versus Anneka and Jack Brooker. In another long, and tight 3 setter, Sophie and David won 6-7 7-5 7-6(5), in a 10.30 pm late-night finish.

In the Vets Men’s Singles, Richard Leslie won 6-2 6-2 against Peter Buck. Giles Corbey managed to play 2 mixed doubles matches, starting off by partnering Amy Tsao in the handicap Mixed Doubles, they won 6-4 6-2 versus Matthew and Alison Gurkin. Giles then teamed up with Jennifer Robinson to win the Restricted Mixed Doubles against Jerome Dumont and Helene Navarre 6-1 6-2 in another late-night finish.

During a slight break in the rain saw the Handicap Men’s Singles and Handicap Ladies Doubles attempt to play on the clay. These attempts were abandoned after a couple of hours in two very close matches with Petar and Vinh stopping at 12-12 in the first set. Vinh eventually went on to win 14-12 9-7 after both players agreed to rearrange.

Korin Harvey and Hiroko Muto were level with Megan Brady and Rosemary Maxfield at 7-9 6-4 1-1 when the rain won out. Korin and Hiroko finished off this match with a 7-5 win in the final set.

Next year will be the 125th year the tournament has been held.

202 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page